Kuujjuaq 2010 Championship race results

race-picintro.jpgApril 6 2010, This  weekend ended the third edition of the Arctic Wind Riders' Championship. 10 riders from 5 communities; Resolute, Pond Inlet, Pangnirtung Kangirsuk and Kuujjuaq entered the tournament. Wheather was warm and we experienced rain and few very calm days. Participants faced difficult conditions with deep wet snow and light wind. Skilled riders managed to find their way through and some of last years beginners emerged this year as winner.

Overall results
Daniel Inuarak from Pond Inlet is first on the overall results, followed by Etua Nassak a 5 year old Paraski veteran from Kangirsuk, and third, Tommy Segualuk from Kuujjuaq. 

Race Results

1    Daniel Inuarak, Pond Inlet
2    Etua Nassak,Kangirsuk
3e Tommy Sequaluk, Kuujjuaq
3e Sandy Haukai, Kangirsuk

Triangle Race
1    Etua Nassak,Kangirsuk
2    Daniel Inuarak, Pond Inlet
3e Tommy Sequaluk, Kuujjuaq
3e Sandy Haukai, Kangirsuk
Speed Runs
1   Eepa Qappik, Pangnirtung
2   Raymond Koneak, Kuujjuaq
3   Daniel Inuarak Pond-Inlet
1   Raymond Koneak, Kuujjuaq
2   Daniel Inuarak, Pond Inlet
3   Tommy Sequaluk, Kuujjuaq

Congratulation to the winners and to all participants, many thanks to all partners, supporters and team members.

NO       Name                       Age     Community Nunatsiaq-news-thumb.jpg
17        Daniel Inuarak          21      Pond Inlet
21        Etua Nassaq             21      Kangirsuk
19        Tommy Segualuk     18      Kuujjuaq
12        Raymond Koneak    16      Kuujjuaq
16        Sandy Haukai           18      Kangirsuk
18        Eepa Qappik             22      Pangnirtung
24        Kris Tukkiapik          16      Kuujjuaq
23        Lukasie Tukkiapik    16      Kuujjuaq
20        Ahoya May                15      Kuujjuaq
30        Valerie Amarualik     16      Resolute Bay

Click on the image to see the printed copy
Click here to see it on Nunasiaq News Online

Special Thanks
This championship was made possible by the support of many partners including: The community of Kuujjuaq, First air, Nunavik Tourism, Air Inuit, Sogo Active and ParaskiFlex.
I would also like to thank Lucas Brown and the Kuujjuaq Paraski Club for their dynamism, Luce Fortin, at the municipality of Kuujjuaq for her precious help as well as the support of mayor Paul Parsons.

air_inuit.jpg        nta.gif           KRG_1.jpg         kuujjuaq_nv_logosmall.jpg